Cue Employment Panic… or Something

It’s weird, a lot of the writing I’m doing currently is less actual writing and more going over stuff I’ve already written and trying to improve it. Excluding the stuff I’m doing for this visual novel I’m writing for anyway – that’s actually coming along pretty nicely. I didn’t expect the recent burst of inspiration, there.

Gotta admit on that part, I’m slightly worried about what will happen once I’ve finished all these setting notes and the time actually comes to work on the novel itself. I’m currently imagining an almighty WHAT NOW?!! Ok, I know I’m not the only one doing the writing on this thing, but still! I’ve never done anything quite like this before, and I’m not too sure how to structure it. I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.

Other things I’m concerned about involve the radio play I wrote at university. I’ve decided that this year I’m going to actually get that made, and I actually have some people willing to help me with this. That being said, I’m not sure how to go about finding people to do the voice acting (although one friend is happy to do one part). I guess the harder part is deciding what sort of voices I want. One character is half-Japanese, and how are you supposed to make that show through her voice? Sounding like English is not her first language? I’m not sure if something like that would actually show through the voice even if she grew up speaking both English and Japanese. On the bright side, things are happening with that and I need to make sure they keep happening.

In terms of the going over old stuff, it’s both exciting and frustrating. Like the experimental short story I wrote at uni, Teddy Bears in Atlantis. I’m going over that and trying to expand on the story while simplifying the language… in part. It’s a weird one since I’m switching between hive mind mentality and a more complex individuality. However, I am making progress.

Tell you what though, I never realised how infuriating it is to await a response from a literary magazine. I submitted another of my short stories to Apex Magazine a few days ago, one I’m actually pretty proud of, and I’ve been checking the submission status incessantly since the website I submitted through displays where I am in the queue. It’s silly, because I’m still doubtful whether I’ll get it at all. I’ve not done this enough to really get an idea of when my writing is good enough, or a good fit.

I really should stop checking so often, but I’m still going to do so until the response comes. I hope they’re not the sort who, if you don’t get in, you don’t get a response. I hate that.

 

Leave a Reply

